The Reading Quest Update #2 + Reviews

img_1531

I proudly participated in my first reading challenge this past month, and I feel as if I was pretty successful!! I took part in #TheReadingQuest hosted by Aentee @ Read at Midnight. It ran from August 13 to September 10. (Yesterday, I know). You got to pick one of four characters to be and follow their reading path. I chose to be the Knight, and you can read all about my book reading decisions in my sign up post!

Final Update:

EXP: 60

HP: 183

Total Points: 243

Level: 2

Total Pages Read: 1716

Number of books read: 5 (and a quarter…)

  • To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han (First book in a series)
  • Shadow Run by Adrianne Strickland (Book with a verb in the title)
  • The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski (Book with a weapon on the cover)
  • I’d Tell You I Love You but Then I’d Have to Kill You by Ally Carter (Book with a red cover)
  • A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle (Book with movie adaptation)
  • Because You Love to Hate Me by Ameriie (Potions- two or more authors)

 

Reviews:

16069030The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski

  • It took me a really long time to read this book, hence my being behind in the challenge.
  • It was good, but not a favorite.
  • Kestrel was pretty interesting, as was their society. (The world building was probably the best part). She was a piano player, and the general’s daughter. Her mind was sharp, but in their society, she is expected to be a good fighter.
  • So, she buys a slave? I’m not really sure why she did that, nor is it ever clarified throughout the story.
  • Arin is her new slave, and he has a secretive, mysterious past. I liked him, but he was kind of boring at first. I needed more from him.
  • Many of the characters have the potential to be great, but they often fell short. I just wasn’t connected the way I would like to be. I DID enjoy how many of them were not who they seemed. That added a much needed aspect to the book.
  • The book grew more interesting as it went on, as more things are happening and being revealed and twisted into crazy plots.
  • I actually did not like the ending. I found it to be boring and drawn out. Much of what was happening was not vital to the story, and it just made the book longer.
  • All in all, I like the book, but I would not call it a favorite. I might continue with series if the opportunity presents itself.

 

a_wrinkle_in_time_digest_2007A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle

  • P.S. I know there is not a movie currently, but it is coming very soon, and now I am super excited!!!
  • I would have considered this to be a classic, so I did not know it was more of a middle grade book. That said, I really liked it!
  • It was totally not what I was expecting, though I’m not sure what I was expecting. It was a bit strange, but the story was really fun.
  • We’ve got a genius 5 year old boy, whom I would LOVE to know in real life. His name is Charles Wallace, like that’s his first name. So sophisticated.
  • The main character, Meg, sounds like your classic nerdy middle schooler, fully equipped with glasses and braces and a knack for mathematics. (AKA me and her would have been BFFs in middle school).
  • There are these three crazy ladies who lead the kids around on and insane adventure to find their father.
  • Oh, I forgot about Calvin! He was pretty cool, too, and he seemed smart as well.
  • All of the characters were fantastic! They completely made the book what it is. Though the plot and setting were really great as well.
  • Generally, their newfound universe is basically insane. There are some majorly crazy things going in the various places the kids go, and I found it a bit strange at first. After a while, I began to enjoy the craziness that is A Wrinkle in Time.
  • If you have not read this book and like science fiction or fantasy, GO READ IT before the movie comes out!!

 

Because You Love to Hate Me by Ameriie

This is not actually a review because I have only read 96 pages so far. It is a bunch of short stories, and some have been better than others. I am really excited for the one by Marissa Meyer, though! Maybe I’ll get a full review done when I have finished…

If you participated in #TheReadingQuest, how did you do? Have you read any of the books that I chose? Are you excited for the A Wrinkle in Time Movie?

Leave a Reply

