Top 10 Things That Make Me Want to Read a Book

IMG_1319

It’s Tuesday again! I’m linking up with Top Ten Tuesday hosted by The Broke and The Bookish. Check out their blog for their thoughts and tons of other TTT posts! I will take you through a checklist of sorts that I tend to use when deciding if I want to read a book.

1. An intriguing description

Of course, I don’t always read the description first, but it’s the best way to get a feel for what the book is about. I want to be captivated and intrigued by the first sentence. In my opinion, a strong description equals a great book!

2. A pretty cover

I know I know, “Don’t judge a book by its cover”. But I just can’t help it sometimes. Who doesn’t love a nice cover? Even books with not-so-great covers can be fabulous, but a cover is the first thing readers see.

3. Recommended by a friend

I have several friends that are also avid readers, and I completely trust their opinions. I have liked much of what has been recommended to me, so I tend to value their thoughts on books.

4. A topic I am familiar with

I tend to read books that are mainly about a topic that I am familiar with or something that I like or enjoy. I am in band and really like math and outer space. I tend to enjoy books that have to do with these things. Genre also works the same way for me (sci-fi and fantasy, but I’m working on branching out).

5. An author I like

Most of the time, if I like one book by a particular author, I end up enjoying all of their books. For example, Marissa Meyer (my favorite!!) and Rick Riordan.

6. Romance potential

I’m a sucker for a good romance, okay? It adds a little something to the story and usually makes the characters more likable. Of course, I don’t want it to be too overwhelming or completely take over the story. Unless it is specifically a romance novel.

7. Goodreads reviews

One of the only social media’s I am on is Goodreads. I think it’s helpful for organizing and keeping track of what books I have read and the one’s I want to read. I have found that reading reviews for a book that seems interesting is a good way to get a feel for what it’s about. Feel free to check me out and see what I’m reading!

8. Discussed by a fellow blogger

I love reading other book blogs! It’s what influenced me to start my own book blog. I love hearing what other people have to say about various books. It is a great way to find new books to add to my never-ending TBR and find friends who enjoy the same books as me! If one of my favorite bloggers adores a book, I’m most likely going to give it a try.

9. How long has it been on my TBR?

I really, really try to read books that I have been wanting to read since forever. Unfortunately, this hasn’t really been working out very well. There are just so many wonderful books being released and not enough time to read them all!

10. Is it a classic maybe?

Ok, this is more of a goal. I really want to get into reading more of the classics and things that are a part of the well-known literature group. So, I should add this question to my criteria and get reading!!

What do you look for in a potential book? Do you secretly judge by cover? What are some of your favorite book blogs? What classics should I read first? Link me to your TTT post!!

8 thoughts on “Top 10 Things That Make Me Want to Read a Book

  1. I definitely judge books by their covers!! It’s so hard not to!πŸ˜‚ Plus I really like owning pretty thing sand like we spend more time OWNING a book than reading it, right!? We deserve pretty covers. :’) πŸ˜‚ I also pay a lot of attention to goodreads and friends’ recommendations!! πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰ And if the book is about dragons, it’s basically insta-need for me!

    Like

Leave a Reply

